Giles County

Giles County was formed in 1806, from parts of Montgomery, Tazewell, and Monroe counties and named for William B. Giles, Governor of Virginia, 1827-1830.

The Incorporated towns located in Giles County are towns of Glen Lyn, Narrows, Pembroke, Rich Creek, and Pearisburg, the county seat. The county's population in 2000 was 16,657 persons (2000 U.S. Census).

Historic Districts

Three historic districts are found in Giles County, including: the Greater Newport Rural Historic District and Newport Historic District in Newport, in eastern Giles County, and the Pearisburg Historic District, in Pearisburg. The Giles County Historical Society conducts tours of area historical sites and organizes special shows throughout the year that highlight the county's rich heritage.

Many historic sites are found throughout Giles County. For more information on the districts and individual sites, see Virginia's online listing districts/sites on the National & State Historic Registers in Giles County.