Floyd County

Floyd County was formed in 1831, from part of Montgomery County, and was named for John Floyd, Governor of Virginia at the time of the county's creation. Traditionally an agricultural county for more that two centuries, much of the natural beauty of the county remains unspoiled. The county seat of Floyd County is the town of Floyd, the only incorporated town in the county. The county's population in 2000 was 13,874 persons (2000 U.S. Census).

Laurel Ridge, Bent Mountain and the Little River form a portion of the northern boundaries of Floyd County. The southern and eastern boundaries of the county supposedly follow the crest of the southern bifurcation of the Blue Ridge Mountains. [1]


Mabry Mill
Built circa 1905, the Mabry Mill is located in Meadows of Dan, in southwestern Floyd Count, at Milepost 176 on the Blue Ridge Parkway. The restored watermill is often cited as the most photographed attraction along the Blue Ridge Parkway, which is the most visited unit of America's National Park System according to the National Park Service (NPS). The Mabry Mill area includes two trails, the Mountain Industry Trail and the Mabry Mill Trail. Structure at the site include a sawmill, woodworking shop and blacksmith shop in addition to the restored gristmill. Demonstrations of mountain crafts and music are presented at various times during the warm months.

Historic Districts

The Floyd Historic District is located in the town of Floyd, VA.

Additional historic sites are found throughout Floyd County. For more information on the districts and individual sites, see Virginia's online listing of sites/districts on the National & State Historic Registers in Floyd County.


1. Resources of South-West Virginia..., published 1881. (Link directs to Google Books...)